Neonatal-Perinatal Digital Health

Identify evidence based or potential better practices in telehealth across the NICU care continuum

Introduction/Vision

The CHNC Neonatal-Perinatal Digital Health was launched in 2020. It is a forum for collaboration and exchange of experiences across the CHNC network to assess the current and establish the future use of digital health in the NICU setting to improve the quality and access to care for neonates in the United States and beyond.

Mission and Goals

Evaluate Telehealth from the perspective of a patient’s care journey in the field of neonatology

  • Evaluate Telehealth from the perspective of a patient’s care journey in the field of neonatology
  • Establish a collaborative forum to conduct neonatal telehealth research and QI studies evaluating the effectiveness and value of utilizing telemedicine.
  • Collaboration across the CHNC centers to identify future opportunities in utilizing tele-medicine in neonatology. 
  • Create a Neonatal Telehealth Database for health outcomes and quality.
  • The advocacy of equal healthcare access for all neonates using telemedicine
Key Accomplishments 
  • Survey to assess telemedicine applications in the field of Neonatology
  • Phase 1 of tele-transport study evaluating the attitudes and expectations about utilizing Telemedicine to manage critical neonatal transport.
Current projects 
  • Tele-transport
  • Remote monitoring use for infants requiring home NG or G-tube feeds
  • Telemedicine applications and factors that might affect discharge

Focus Group Leaders

Abeer Azzuqa

MD
Pittsburgh Children’s Hospital

John Chuo

MD, MS, IA
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Meeting Schedule

Second Wednesday of each month at 10:00 a.m. PT / 11:00 a.m. MT / 12:00 p.m. CT / 1:00 p.m. ET

Neonatal-Perinatal Digital Health

Publications

See All CHNC Publications